The 35th Annual Diocesan Assembly

The 35th Annual Assembly of the Armenian Diocese of Canada, hosted by St. Vartan Armenian Apostolic Church was held on May 18-20, 2018, in Vancouver, British Columbia. Delegates from parishes across Canada, along with participation in the Diocesan Assembly, had an opportunity to celebrate the historical milestone in the chronical of the Armenian Holy Apostolic Church in Canada – the 50th anniversary of the establishment of the parish of St. Vartan Armenian Church. His Eminence Archbishop Vatche Hovsepyan, the Parish founder, brought his blessings and participation to the celebration of the Golden Jubilee.

His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan, Primate, presided over the Assembly.

On this historic occasion, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II proclaimed May the 20th of 2018 the Armenian Heritage Day in the Province of British Columbia.

His Holiness Karekin II, Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians, sent Pontifical blessings from the Spiritual center for all Armenians – Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin, to the entire flock of the Armenian Holy Apostolic Church in Canada.

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, the Prime Minister of Canada, on behalf of the Government of Canada, extended greetings to the Assembly participants and expressed wishes of success.

To summarize the 2017 diocesan activities, the Annual Report, and a Yearbook in Armenian, English, and French was presented to the delegates.

At the Assembly, reports of numerous diocesan ministries – Women’s Guild Central Council (WGCC), the Armenian Church Youth Organization of Canada (ACYOC), the Children’s Fund For Armenia (CFFA), the Canadian Armenian Association of Performing Art (CAAPA), the Ararat Summer Youth Camp, as well as the reports of the Chancellery and the Diocesan Endowment Fund, were discussed and appropriate resolutions were approved by the delegates.

The Assembly elected members of the Diocesan Council – the highest executive body of the Diocese, Board of Trustees, Nominating and Auditing Committees.

On Saturday evening, the Parish Council of St. Vartan Armenian Apostolic Church organized a banquet to mark the Golden Jubilee of the British Columbia Parish.

Click here to read the Proclamation of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Click here to read the 2017 Diocesan Yearbook

Click here to read the message of His Holiness Karekin II, Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians

Click here to read the message of the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, the Prime Minister of Canada

arrow

La 35e Assemblée diocésaine annuelle

La 35è Assemblée annuelle du Diocèse arménien du Canada, organisée par l’Église arménienne Saint Vartan a eu lieu du 18 au 20 mai 2018 à Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique. Des délégués représentant les Paroisses à travers le Canada, à part leur participation à l’Assemblée diocésaine ont eu l’occasion de célébrer le parcours historique et la chronicité de la Sainte Église apostolique arménienne au Canada, le 50è anniversaire de l’établissement de la Paroisse de l’Église arménienne Saint-Vartan. Son Eminence l’Archevêque Vatche Hovsepyan, le fondateur de la paroisse, a participé et a béni la célébration du Jubilé d’Or.

Sa Grâce Mgr Abgar Hovakimyan présida l’Assemblée.

A l’occasion de cet évènement historique, Sa Majesté La Reine Elizabeth II a proclamé le 20 mai 2018, jour du patrimoine arménien en Colombie-Britannique.

Sa Sainteté Karekin II, Patriarche Suprême et Catholicos de tous les Arméniens a transmis sa bénédiction pontificale, du Saint-Siège d’Etchmiadzine, à tous les fidèles de la Sainte Église apostolique arménienne du Canada.

Le Très Honorable Justin Trudeau, Premier Ministre du Canada, a dépêché, au nom du Gouvernement Canadien, ses vœux et ses souhaits de réussite aux participants de l’Assemblée diocésaine.

Pour résumer les activités diocésaines de 2017, le rapport annuel et un annuaire en arménien, anglais et français ont été présentés aux délégués.

Au cours de l’Assemblée, des rapports annuels du Conseil central du Cercle des femmes (WGCC), de l’Organisation de la jeunesse de l’Église arménienne du Canada (ACYOC), du Fonds pour enfants de l’Arménie (CFFA), de l’Association arménienne canadienne des arts de performance (CAAPA), du camp d’été Ararat, ainsi que les rapports de la Chancellerie et du fonds de Dotation diocésain, ont été discutés, évalués, et des résolutions appropriées ont été approuvées par les délégués.

L’Assemblée a élu des membres du Conseil diocésain, l’organe exécutif suprême du Diocèse, du Conseil d’administration, des Comités de nomination et de vérification.

Le samedi soir, le Conseil paroissial de l’Église apostolique arménienne Saint-Vartan a organisé un banquet à l’occasion du Jubilé d’Or de la Paroisse de la Colombie-Britannique.

Cliquez ici pour lire la Proclamation de Sa Majesté La Reine Elizabeth II

Cliquez ici pour lire le recueil annuel diocésain 2017

Cliquez ici pour lire le message de Sa Sainteté Karekin II, Patriarche Suprême et Catholicos de tous les Arméniens

Cliquez ici pour lire le message du Très Honorable Justin Trudeau, Premier Ministre du Canada

 

Back to top
X