Youth Interfaith Gathering organized by the Armenian Diocese in Calgary

On February 23, 2018, young leaders and clergy from the wide range of religious communities concluded the third cycle of meetings and discussions in Calgary.

Throughout the week, youth and clergy from 16 different religious communities representing Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism, Bahaism, and Buddhism, gathered under the auspices of Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan, Diocesan Primate, at the Memorial Park Library, to exchange wisdom about each other’s religion, and to reflect on Canada’s religious diversity.

The gatherings were made possible thanks to the support of the Federal Government of Canada for the “Celebrating Our Diversity Now” youth interfaith project initiated by the Armenian Diocese of Canada. The event was organized on the occasion of the World Interfaith Harmony Week proclaimed by the UN General Assembly on October 20, 2010.

The Diocese had elaborated the Project to mark the “2018 Year of Youth” proclaimed by His Holiness Karekin II, Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians. On this occasion, Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan, Primate, gave his blessings to focus on promoting youth interfaith dialogue.

The first two meetings took place at the end of January 2018, in Montreal, QC, and at the beginning of February in Toronto, ON.

Vancouver, BC, will host the next gathering on March 5-9 2018, where representatives from local religious communities will come together in a friendly environment to enhance youth interfaith dialogue in our multicultural country.

A documentary movie and a website are being created to further promote the reflection on the importance of connecting youth from different religious backgrounds.

We are grateful to everyone who recognized the importance of this initiative and accepted our invitation.

Rassemblement interconfessionnel des jeunes, organisé par le Diocèse arménien à Calgary

Le 23 février 2018, de jeunes leaders et membres du clergé appartenant à une vaste communauté religieuse ont terminé le troisième cycle de réunions et de discussions à Calgary.

Tout au long de la semaine, des jeunes et des membres du clergé de 16 communautés religieuses différentes, représentant le Christianisme, le Judaïsme, l’Islam, l’Hindouisme, le Sikhisme, le Bahaïsme et le Bouddhisme se sont rassemblés sous le patronage de l’Evêque Abgar Hovakimyan, Primat, à la Memorial Park Library, pour échanger des idées sur leur religion respective et pour délibérer la diversité religieuse du Canada.

Les rassemblements ont été rendus possibles grâce à l’appui du Gouvernement fédéral du Canada pour le projet interconfessionnel des jeunes « Célébrons aujourd’hui notre diversité » lancé par le Diocèse arménien du Canada. L’événement était organisé à l’occasion de la Semaine mondiale de l’Harmonie Interconfessionnelle, proclamée par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies le 20 octobre 2010.

Le Diocèse a élaboré le projet pour marquer «2018 Année de la jeunesse», suite à la proclamation comme telle par Sa Sainteté Karékine II, Patriarche Suprême et Catholicos de Tous les Arméniens. A cette occasion, Mgr Abgar Hovakimyan, Primat, a donné sa bénédiction pour promouvoir le dialogue interconfessionnel des jeunes.

Les deux premières réunions ont eu lieu à la fin de janvier 2018, à Montréal, QC et au début de février à Toronto, ON.

Vancouver (C.B.) accueillera le prochain rassemblement le 5-9 mars 2018, où des représentants des communautés religieuses locales se réuniront dans un environnement amical pour améliorer le dialogue interconfessionnel des jeunes dans notre pays multiculturel.

Un film documentaire et un site web sont en cours de préparation pour promouvoir la réflexion sur l’importance de connecter les jeunes de différents milieux religieux.

Nous sommes reconnaissants à tous ceux qui ont reconnu l’importance de cette initiative et ont accepté notre invitation.

Back to top
X