Special Membership Meeting of St. Mesrob Armenian Church of Ottawa

On August 18, 2019, on the Feast of the Assumption of the Holy Mother-of-God, upon conclusion of the Divine Liturgy and the Ceremony of Blessing the Grapes, His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan, Primate, presided over a Special Membership Meeting of St. Mesrob Armenian Church of Ottawa.

The meeting was convened to discuss the purchase of a parcel of six acres land and the former Carlsbad Springs Community Centre, located at 5065 Thunder Road, for the use as the new Ottawa Armenian Church & Community Centre.

The meeting was open to the entire Armenian community of the National Capital.

Mr. Jean-Philippe Tachdjian, Parish Treasurer, made a detailed presentation about efforts made throughout the last 40 years by St. Mesrob Armenian Church of Ottawa to have a church property and the community centre of its own. Thereafter, Mr. Tachdjian presented the most recent initiative of the Parish Council and various studies conducted on the land and the building, and responded to questions.

Upon conclusion of the discussions, a resolution on the purchase of the property located at 5065 Thunder Road in Ottawa has been approved by the Special Membership Meeting.

The deadline for Parish Council to close the sale is August 29, 2019.

On June 14, 2019, the offer to purchase a parcel of six acres land and the former Carlsbad Springs Community Centre, located at 5065 Thunder Road, presented by the Parish Council of St. Mesrob Armenian Church of Ottawa through a closed bidding has been accepted by City of Ottawa.

On July 11, 2019, the City of Ottawa approved sale of property.

Back to top
X

Le 18 août 2019, après la célébration de la Divine liturgie et de la cérémonie de la Bénédiction du raisin, à l’occasion de la fête de l’Assomption de la Sainte Vierge-Marie, Mère de Dieu, Sa Grâce l’Évêque Abgar Hovakimyan, Primat, a présidé une assemblée extraordinaire de l’Église arménienne St. Mesrop d’Ottawa.

La réunion a été convoquée pour discuter de l’achat d’une parcelle de terrain de six acres et de l’ancien centre communautaire de Carlsbad Springs, situé au 5065, Chemin Thunder, qui servirait comme la nouvelle Église et le nouveau Centre communautaire arménien d’Ottawa.

La réunion était accessible à l’ensemble de la communauté arménienne de la Capitale nationale.

M. Jean-Philippe Tachdjian, trésorier de la Paroisse, a présenté de manière détaillée les efforts déployés au cours des 40 dernières années par l’Église arménienne St. Mesrop d’Ottawa en vue de se doter d’une Église et d’un Centre communautaire. Par la suite, M. Tachdjian a présenté la dernière initiative du Conseil de la Paroisse et diverses études menées sur le terrain et le bâtiment, et a répondu aux questions.

A la fin des discussions, une résolution sur l’achat de la propriété, située au 5065, Chemin Thunder à Ottawa a été approuvée par l’assemblée extraordinaire des membres.

La date limite pour la clôture de la vente par le Conseil paroissial est le 29 août 2019.

Le 14 juin 2019, l’offre d’achat d’une parcelle de terrain de six acres et de l’ancien centre communautaire de Carlsbad Springs, situé au 5065, Chemin Thunder, présentée par le Conseil paroissial de l’Église arménienne St. Mesrob d’Ottawa à la suite d’un appel d’offre fermé, a été acceptée par la Ville d’Ottawa.

Le 11 juillet 2019, la Ville d’Ottawa a approuvé la vente de la propriété.