Announcement

On March the 1st, 2019, the Diocese and the Holy Trinity Armenian Church announced the successful purchase of the AGBU property next to the Holy Trinity Armenian Church, located at 930 Progress Ave., Toronto, for $8.5 million.

This is a historic achievement by the Armenian Holy Apostolic Church, Canadian Diocese at large and Holy Trinity Armenian Church in particular. On November 11, 2018, at the special membership meeting held at the Holy Trinity Armenian Church, His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan, Primate, gave his blessings to the leadership and members of the Parish, to secure this property for the good of the Toronto Armenians and for the benefit of generations to come.

Short of a miracle, this purchase was spearheaded and successfully brought to fruition, by a handful of committed members of the Holy Trinity Armenian Church, namely Ohan Ohanessian, Jack Stepanian, Rosin Imasdounian, and Ara Boyajian who tirelessly worked under extremely tight timelines, headed by Rev. Archpriest Fr. Zareh Zargarian, Vicar of the Diocese of the Armenian Holy Apostolic Church, and Parish Priest of Holy Trinity Armenian Church.

Based on the resolution passed by the Parish membership on Nov. 11, 2018, and the expressed wishes of the Toronto Armenians, and the larger Armenian Canadian community, it was the unanimous decision of the Parish Council and the joint Diocesan Council and the Diocesan Board of Trustees, to approve the purchase of this property in strict accordance to the Bylaws of the Diocese.

This purchase was made possible based on the successful financing of the project by securing a five year term mortgage, using only this property as collateral, and registering the property in the name of the Diocese, as per the Bylaws of the Diocese.

The Diocese’s own feasibility study and the cash flow projections confirm that over the next five years, the Diocese, will head lease the premises, and be able to carry the property, including making the interest payments. This will also include any loss of income due to granting AGBU, the right to continue its operation and activities in the building, free of charge for eleven months, at absolutely no cost to AGBU.

The principal amount of the mortgage will be due in five years. This will provide adequate time for the Diocese and the Holy Trinity Armenian Church, to strategize and plan to undertake a much needed project, which will benefit the Toronto community at large.

This accomplishment presents huge and unprecedented financial and other challenges to the Diocese and the Holy Trinity Armenian Church. Challenges that are historic in proportions, that will require not only financial support from all our communities, but also require a new vision and a new sense of community building to meet the current and future needs of our growing Armenian community in Toronto.

We believe, together, we can build a stronger community, based on our collective vision of serving our present needs and preparing for the future.

Montreal, March 20, 2019

Back to top
X

Déclaration

Le 1er mars 2019, le Diocèse et l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité ont annoncé l’achat triomphal de la propriété de l’UGAB, adjacent à l’Église, située au 930, avenue Progress, à Toronto, pour $8.5 million.

Il s’agit là d’une réalisation historique de la part du Diocèse de la Sainte Église apostolique arménienne du Canada, en général, et en particulier, de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité. Le 11 novembre 2018, lors de l’assemblée extraordinaire des membres qui s’est tenue à l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité, Sa Grâce, l’Évêque Abgar Hovakimyan, Primat, a donné sa bénédiction aux dirigeants et aux membres de la paroisse pour protéger cette propriété pour le bien des Arméniens de Toronto et pour le bien des générations à venir.

A moins d’un miracle, cet achat a été dirigé et mené à bien par une poignée de membres engagés de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité, notamment Ohan Ohanessian, Jack Stepanian, Rosin Imasdounian, et Ara Boyajian, qui ont travaillé sans relâche dans des délais extrêmement serrés, sous la direction du Révérend Archiprêtre Zareh Zargarian, Vicaire du Diocèse de la Sainte Église apostolique arménienne et curé de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité.

Basé sur la résolution adoptée par les membres de la paroisse, le 11 novembre 2018 et la demande exprimée par les Arméniens de Toronto et la communauté arménienne canadienne, il s’agissait d’une décision conjointe unanime du Conseil de la paroisse, du Conseil diocésain et du Conseil d’administration diocésain, d’approuver l’achat de cette propriété, en respectant la conformité des statuts du Diocèse.

Cet achat a été rendu possible grâce au financement réussi du projet en garantissant une hypothèque à terme de cinq ans, en utilisant uniquement cette propriété à titre de garantie, et en enregistrant la propriété au nom du Diocèse, conformément aux statuts du Diocèse.

L’étude de faisabilité et le flux de trésorerie du Diocèse confirment qu’au cours des cinq prochaines années, le Diocèse assurera la location des locaux et sera en mesure de soutenir l’immeuble, y compris les versements d’intérêts. Cela comprendra également toute perte de revenu due à l’entente d’accorder à l’UGAB le droit de poursuivre son exploitation et ses activités dans le bâtiment pendant onze mois, gratuitement.

Le montant principal de l’hypothèque sera dû dans cinq ans. Cela donnera suffisamment de temps au Diocèse et à l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité pour élaborer une stratégie et planifier la mise en œuvre d’un projet indispensable, qui profitera à l’ensemble de la communauté de Toronto.

Cette réalisation représente des défis financiers énormes et sans précédent pour le Diocèse et l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité. Des défis historiques dans des proportions, qui nécessiteront non seulement le soutien financier de toutes nos communautés, mais également une nouvelle vision et un nouveau sens de la reconstruction de la société afin de répondre aux besoins actuels et futurs de notre communauté arménienne en pleine croissance à Toronto. Ensemble, nous croyons que nous pouvons construire une communauté plus forte, basée sur notre vision collective de répondre à nos besoins actuels et de préparer l’avenir.

Montréal, le 20 mars 2019

Back to top
X