Catholicos of All Armenians Received Chaplain General of the Canadian Armed Forces

On February 24, 2019, in the Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin, His Holiness Karekin II, Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians; Brigadier-General Guy Chapdelaine, Chaplain General of the Canadian Armed Forces, who arrived in Armenia on a cognitive visit. He was accompanied by His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan, Primate of the Armenian Diocese of Canada, His Grace Bishop Vrtanes Abrahamyan, Head Chaplain of the Armed Forces of the Republic of Armenia, and Rev. Archpriest Zareh Zargarian, Vicar of the Armenian Diocese of Canada.

During the meeting, His Holiness welcomed the mutual cooperation between the Head Chaplains of the Armed Forces of the two countries, stressing its’ importance in terms of the exchange of experience and making the service of the clergy more effective in the Army.

The Catholicos of All Armenians also referred to the activities of the Armenian Army’s spiritual leadership and the service of the clergy, stressing that it has an important role. His Holiness stated that during the history of the Armenian people the Armenian Church and its servants were constantly standing beside the Armenian soldier, struggling for the freedom of the Armenian people and for the establishment and protection of the independent Armenian statehood.

The Chaplain General of the Canadian Armed Forces also noted his visit to Armenia as a good opportunity to share with the spiritual leadership of the Armenian Army the experience of conducting spiritual service in military units and relevant knowledge in the field. Brigadier-General Chapdelaine also highlighted the presence of a clergyman in the life of the soldier, especially in difficult circumstances.

At the conclusion, His Holiness blessed the Chaplain General of the Canadian Armed Forces and wished him God’s support in his sacred and responsible mission.

Back to top
X

Le Catholicos de tous les Arméniens accueille l’Aumônier général des Forces armées canadiennes

Le 24 février 2019, Sa Sainteté Karekin II, Patriarche Suprême et Catholicos de tous les Arméniens a accueilli au Saint-Siège d’Etchmiadzine le brigadier général Guy Chapdelaine, aumônier général des Forces armées canadiennes qui se trouvait en Arménie pour une visite cognitive, accompagné de l’Évêque Abgar Hovakimyan, Primat du Diocese de Canada, de l’aumônier général des Forces armées arméniennes l’Évêque Vrtanes Abrahamyan, et Révérend Archiprêtre, le Père Zareh Zargarian, Vicaire du Diocese de Canada.

Pendant l’entretien, Sa Sainteté a salué la coopération entre les aumôniers des deux pays en considérant l’importance des échanges d’expériences pour l’amélioration des enjeux stratégiques confrontées par les aumôniers dans l’armée.

Le Catholicos de tous les Arméniens a fait une courte présentation sur les services d’aumônerie des Forces armées arméniennes, en soulignant l’importance de son rôle et de son impact. Sa Sainteté a aussi mentionné que dans l’histoire du people arménien l’Église arménienne et le Clergé étaient toujours à cote de l’armée et des soldats, en participant dans leur mission de la libération du peuple arménien et l’établissement d’un état souverain et de sa défense.

De sa part l’aumônier général des Forces armées canadiennes a souligné que sa visite en Arménie était une occasion importante pour partager avec l’aumônier général des Forces armées arméniennes les enjeux, les priorités, les défis confrontés dans les détachements.

L’aumônier général Chapdelaine a aussi mentionné l’importance d’être toujours avec les soldats, surtout en temps de conflit.

A la fin de l’entrevue, le Catholicos de tous les arméniens a béni le brigadier général Guy Chapdelaine, aumônier général des Forces armées canadiennes, lui souhaitant la guidance de Dieu dans l’accomplissement de sa mission responsable et honorable.

arrow