The Canonization of the Martyrs of the Armenian Genocide at the Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin

073e4d6c-41c0-4774-89d8-ed2c92857bd5The Canonization of the Martyrs of the Armenian Genocide at the Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin

ETCHMIADZIN – On April 23, the Armenian Church will canonize the martyrs of the Armenian Genocide at the Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin. The service will be led and presided over by His Holiness Karekin II, Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of all Armenians, and Aram I, Catholicos of the Holy See of Cilicia. The canonization marks a major event in the history of the Armenian nation, as no elevation to sainthood has taken place in the Armenian Apostolic Church for over 400 years.

The ceremony will be broadcast live in Armenia and abroad at all major Armenian churches, uniting millions of Armenians worldwide. The Armenian General Benevolent Union will sponsor all costs relating to the canonization ceremony and its worldwide broadcast. The ceremony will begin at 5:00 PM (17:00) and end at 7:15 PM (19:15) Yerevan time to symbolize the year in which the genocide began.

“The canonization is meant to transform the remembrance of our martyrs into energy and strength in the spiritual life of our nation, illuminate the path of our righteous course before God and all people and guide our way toward the realization of justice and our sacred aspirations,” said His Holiness Karekin II.

Viewers from around the world are invited to watch the canonization ceremony live at www.agbu.org, www.agbu.am or www.armeniangenocide100.org at the times below:

Montreal, Toronto, Mississauga, Ottawa, Laval, Hamilton, St. Catharines, Windsor: 9:00 AM; Calgary, Edmonton: 7:00 AM; Vancouver: 6:00 AM
Yerevan: 5:00 PM; Beirut: 4:00 PM; Paris: 3:00 PM; New York: 9:00 AM; Los Angeles:6:00 AM

Back to top
X