Announcement: Holy Trinity Armenian Church Special Membership Meeting

ANNOUNCEMENT
Holy Trinity Armenian Church Special Membership Meeting
November 11, 2018

On Sunday, November 11, 2018 at 2:00 PM a special membership meeting of Holy Trinity Armenian Church was convened under the presidency of His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan, Primate.

This meeting was significant due to its impact on the Toronto Armenian community at large.

Present to the meeting were Rev. Archpriest Fr. Zareh Zargarian, Vicar of the Armenian Church Diocese of Canada and Parish Priest of the Holy Trinity Armenian Church, Mr. Ohan Ohanessian, Chairman of the Diocesan Council, Mrs. Rosine Imasdounian, Chairperson of Holy Trinity Armenian Church Parish Council, Dues paying members, representatives of Armenian sister churches and organizations, and a large number of community members in particular noticeable presence of the youth.

Upon the welcoming words of the Parish Council Chairperson, Mrs. Rosin Imasdounian, invited Mr. Jack Stepanian Chairman of the Diocesan Board of Trustees to chair the special membership meeting and Mrs. Betty Panossian and Ms. Arine Kemkemian to act as Armenian and English secretaries respectively.

The meeting commenced with Bishop Hovakimyan’s opening prayer and proceeded as per agenda.

Mr. Ohan Ohanessian, gave a brief description of the highlights of the purchase and the sale agreement between AGBU and Centennial College, mentioning the required sale price of $8.5 million dollars, the down payment amount, also as per agreement Holy Trinity Armenian Church’s right of first refusal till January 2019 and the final purchase deadline of January 29, 2019.

A video presentation of the existing Church and the AGBU properties was displayed for the interest of the community.

The resolution prepared by the Parish Council of the Holy Trinity Armenian Church in English and Armenian was read by Mr. Ohan Ohanessian and Mrs. Rosine Imasdounian respectively upon which Mr. Jack Stepanian, the Chairman opened the floor for discussion.

 

Resolution

The Parish Council of the Holy Trinity Armenian Church has closely followed the latest developments with regards to the Purchase and Sale Agreement between AGBU Armen Ontario and Centennial College for the AGBU property.

To best serve the interests of the Church, the Parish Council recommends to the General Assembly to approve this resolution and to mandate Mr. Ohan Ohanessian Chair, Diocese of the Armenian Church of Canada, Mr. Jack Stepanian-Chair of the Diocesan Board of Trustees, and Mrs. Rosine Imasdounian-Chair of HTAC Parish Council and Mr. Ara Boyajian-Chair of HTAC Construction Committee, to assess the impact of the sale of the AGBU property located at 930 Progress Avenue, on the operation of the HTAC and explore all possible avenues to best safeguard the interests of the Church, including the preparation of a feasibility study, approaching financial institutions and getting commitments from major donors to kick start a community wide fund raising drive to secure the necessary funds, and exercise, by January 2019, its first right of refusal to purchase the property by January 29, 2019.

 

Those present to the meeting entered into healthy and constructive discussions asking question, expressing concerns and suggesting solutions for this extraordinary situation due to proposed sale of the AGBU Centre to Centennial College.

During the discussion period, Mr. Hagop Janbazian the Chairman of the Interdenominational Committee of Toronto representing St. Mary Armenian Apostolic Church, St. Gregory Armenian Catholic Church and Armenian Evangelical Church’s Parish Priests made a positive and inspirational statement expressing his support and unity with Holy Trinity Armenian Church.

Mr. Ara Ter Harutunian, the Vice Principal of St. Sahag and St. Mesrob Armenian Saturday School, Mr. Sevag Avakian, Director of Youth and Barev Centre’s Board Member (also Choreographer of Sassoun Dance Ensemble), as well as a representative from The Armenian Community Centre, expressed their solidarity and encouragement to make every effort in support of the resolution.

Fr. Zareh Zargarian, expressed his appreciation to all representatives of Armenian Churches and organizations who expressed their support. He encouraged the community to stand in solidarity at this critical time in history of our community.

His Grace Bishop Hovakimyan expressed his thanks to the Armenian community for the display of unity and support and readiness to assist in bringing a resolution to current situation.

Furthermore, Bishop Hovakimyan in support of fundraising made an impressive gesture by donating his Panagia and Crosier as the first donation to the fundraising drive.

By way of secret balloting 130 dues paying members (out of 400 community members attending the meeting) voted on the proposed resolution. The outcome of the voting confirmed 122 votes Yes, 5 votes no, 3 votes abstained.

Armenian Holy Apostolic Church Diocese of Canada
Holy Trinity Armenian Apostolic Church of Toronto

arrow

Déclaration: Assemblée spéciale des membres de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité

Déclaration
Assemblée spéciale des membres de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité
11 novembre 2018

Le dimanche 11 novembre 2018 à 14 heures, une assemblée spéciale des membres de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité a été convoquée sous la présidence de l’Évêque Abgar Hovakimyan, Primat. Cette réunion était signifiante en raison de son impact sur la communauté arménienne de Toronto.

Étaient présent à la réunion, Le Révérend Archiprêtre, le Père Zareh Zargarian, Vicaire du Diocèse de l’Église Apostolique arménienne du Canada et Curé de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité, M. Ohan Ohanessian, Président du conseil diocésain, Mme Rosine Imasdounian, Présidente du conseil paroissial de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité, des membres contribuant, des représentants d’Églises sœurs et d’Organisations arméniennes et un grand nombre de membres de la communauté, en particulier une présence notable de la jeunesse.

Après les mots de bienvenue, la Présidente du Conseil de la Paroisse, Mme Rosin Imasdounian, a invité M. Jack Stepanian, Président du conseil des Curateurs du Diocèse, à présider la réunion extraordinaire des membres, et Mme Betty Panossian et Mme Arine Kemkemian à assumer respectivement, les fonctions de secrétaires en arménien et anglais.

La réunion a débuté par la prière de l’Évêque Hovakimyan et s’est déroulée conformément à l’ordre du jour.

M. Ohan Ohanessian a donné une brève description des faits saillants de l’achat et du contrat de vente entre l’UGAB et le Centennial College, mentionnant le prix de vente requis de 8,5 millions de dollars, le montant de l’acompte, ainsi que le premier droit de refus de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité jusqu’en janvier 2019 et la date limite d’achat final du 29 janvier 2019.

Une présentation vidéo de l’Eglise et de la propriété adjacente de l’UGAB a été affichée dans l’intérêt de la communauté.

La résolution préparée par le Conseil paroissial de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité en anglais et en arménien a été lue par M. Ohan Ohanessian et Mme Rosine Imasdounian, suite à quoi le Président Jack Stepanian a ouvert le débat.

Résolution

Le conseil paroissial de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité a suivi de près les derniers développements concernant l’entente d’achat et de vente entre l’UGAB Armen Ontario et le Centennial College pour la propriété de l’UGAB.

Pour servir au mieux les intérêts de l’Église, le Conseil paroissial recommande à l’Assemblée générale d’approuver cette résolution et de mandater M. Ohan Ohanessian, Président du Diocèse de l’Église apostolique arménienne du Canada, M. Jack Stepanian, Président du Conseil des curateurs du Diocèse et Mme Rosine Imasdounian, Présidente du Conseil paroissial de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité et M. Ara Boyajian, Président du comité de construction de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité, afin d’évaluer l’impact de la vente de la propriété de l’UGAB, située au 930 Progress Avenue, sur le fonctionnement de l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité et d’explorer tous les moyens possibles pour protéger au mieux les intérêts de l’Église, y compris la préparation d’une étude praticable, le rapprochement aux institutions financières, l’acquisition d’engagement des principaux donateurs pour lancer une campagne de financement à l’échelle de la communauté pour obtenir les fonds nécessaires et d’exercer, d’ici à janvier 2019, son premier droit de refus, pour acheter la propriété au plus tard le 29 janvier 2019.

 

Les membres présents à la réunion ont entamé des discussions saines et constructives en posant des questions, en exprimant leurs préoccupations et en proposant des solutions à cette situation extraordinaire, en raison de la de vente du Centre de l’UGAB de Toronto au Centennial College.

Au cours de la période de discussion, M. Hagop Janbazian, Président du Comité interconfessionnel de Toronto, représentant l’Église apostolique arménienne Ste. Marie, l’Église catholique arménienne St. Grégoire et les Pasteurs de l’Église évangélique arménienne, a exprimé son soutien et son alliance à l’Église arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité.

En tant que directeur de Barev Youth, M. Sevag Avakian, chorégraphe de l’Ensemble de dance Sasoun, M. Ara Ter Haroutunian, Directeur adjoint de l’École arménienne St. Sahag et St. Mesrop, ainsi qu’un représentant du Centre communautaire arménien, ont également exprimé leur solidarité et encouragement à tout mettre en œuvre pour appuyer la résolution.

Le Père Zareh Zargarian a exprimé sa gratitude à tous les représentants des Églises et Organisations arméniennes qui ont exprimé leur soutien. Il a encouragé la communauté à se solidariser à ce moment critique de l’histoire de notre communauté.

Sa Grâce, l’Évêque Hovakimyan, a remercié la communauté arménienne pour son unité, son soutien et sa volonté d’aider à trouver une solution à la situation actuelle.

En outre, l’Évêque Hovakimyan, en faveur de la collecte de fonds, a fait un geste impressionnant en faisant don de son Panagia/Engolpion et de sa Crosse en tant que premier don de la collecte de fonds.

Au scrutin secret, 130 membres cotisants (sur 400 membres de la communauté participant à la réunion) ont voté sur la résolution proposée. Le résultat du vote a confirmé 122 votes pour, 5 votes contre, 3 votes abstenus.

Diocese de la Sainte Église Apostolique arménienne du Canada
Église Arménienne de la Sainte-Trinité de Toronto

arrow