Annual Diocesan Summer Youth Camp “Ararat”

By Talia Kalender

On August 11-18, 2018, the Annual Diocesan Summer Youth Camp “Ararat” was held under the auspices of His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan, Primate of the Armenian Diocese of Canada.

Youth all over Canada including Ottawa, Toronto, Montreal, Laval, Mississauga, Hamilton, St. Catherines and Vancouver came together for a week to explore their identity and learn about the Armenian culture, language and faith. This year, we broke a record and had 170 participants including campers, counsellors and staff as part of the Camp Ararat family.

Every year Camp Ararat has a theme. This year, the theme was the Year of The Youth proclaimed by His Holiness Karekin II, Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians. Our daily programming was built on this theme. In the mornings, our younger campers rotate among the religion, the heritage, and the sports programming. Religion class is prepared by the clergymen, Rev. Fr. Komitas Mirzakhanyan from Laval and Rev. Fr. Myron Sargsyan from Mississauga. Each day students were guided to engage in their faith via a number of different activities teaching them about the Armenian Apostolic Church and how to make a stronger relationship with God.

Heritage and Culture is another important part of a camper’s morning. Each day, different activities related to Armenian art, dance, language and drama are programmed for the campers to learn about their Armenian culture & heritage. Since some campers do not speak Armenian, we take pride in providing opportunities for these campers to learn and connect with their Armenian Identity in ways other than just language.

Physical activity is very important for youth, and Camp Ararat makes sure that the campers are active all day. Each morning, counsellors run different sports and games. They play traditional sports like soccer and basketball, but also other cooperative and team building games.

While the younger campers are spending their time in the mentioned rotations, the older campers have a very different morning. Campers aged 14 & 15, are part of a special program run by a very special group of people. The Camp Ararat “Challenge”. The Challenge is a race that the campers complete every day in special groups with a clear winner at the end of the week. Each day, groups undergo physical, cultural, mental, and academic activities against their peers to come out on top. Each year the Challenge has its own theme. This year it was Disney! Past themes include Harry Potter, the game of Life and Superheros.

After lunch, all the campers continue with camp-wide programming. Each day, counsellors run lectures teaching our campers about how Armenians have made a difference in the social, medical and business worlds.

Next comes the afternoon programming. Each day, campers experience a number of different activities, mostly related to water. There is a beach waterfront where campers can enjoy swimming in the lake, canoeing as well as kayaking. The large inground swimming pool gives our campers the opportunity to show off their dives, play water polo and go down the water slide! Another water activity the campers participate in during the week is the Camp Ararat version of “Jur Ashkhar”. Campers get to play water games on the field. The object of the game is always to get everyone wet and refreshed! In addition to the water activities, campers also can enjoy fishing, archery and BB gunning.

After some free time, it is time to eat dinner! After dinner, our evening program begins. Every night, counsellors create camp-wide activities. These activities relate back to our annual theme, this year being the Year of the Youth. Armenian Trivia Night, Counsellor in Training Olympics and Talent Show & Dance are just a few of the evening programs that have become staples at camp!

Camp Ararat also runs a program for those who are too old to be a camper, but too young to be a counsellor. These 16-17 year olds are part of the two year Counsellor in Training program. They work with experienced staff who train them on how to be a great leader in their communities and a great counsellor at Camp Ararat. Team-building, cooperation and role-playing activities are heavily incorporated into the program.

Every year, Camp Ararat is blessed with a great team of carefully selected counsellors from across Canada. Each year, there are a number of counsellors who have been coming back for years, and a number of counsellors who want to be part of the Camp Ararat family for the first time. The Camp Ararat doors are always open for who ever wants to be a part of it. Without this strong group, our campers would not be able to have such an unforgettable experience.

We are proud that the Armenian Youth of Canada have an opportunity like Camp Ararat. Thank you to everyone who makes every year special.

arrow

Camp diocésain annuel d’été «Ararat» pour les jeunes

Par Talia Kalender

Du 11 au 18 août 2018, le camp diocésain annuel d’été « Ararat » s’est déroulé sous les auspices de Son Excellence Monseigneur Abgar Hovakimyan, Primat du Diocèse arménien du Canada.

Des jeunes de partout au Canada, y compris Ottawa, Toronto, Montréal, Laval, Mississauga, Hamilton, St. Catharines et Vancouver se sont réunis pendant une semaine pour explorer leur identité et en apprendre davantage sur la culture, la langue et la foi arméniennes. Cette année, nous avons battu un record dans le cadre de la famille du Camp Ararat, ayant 170 participants, y compris les campeurs, les conseillers bénévoles et le personnel.

Chaque année, le Camp Ararat choisit et fonctionne sur un thème. Cette année, suite à la proclamation de Sa Sainteté Karekine II, Patriarche Suprême et Catholicos de tous les Arméniens « 2018 Année de la Jeunesse », la programmation quotidienne a été préparée sur ce thème. Le matin, nos jeunes campeurs faisaient la rotation entre la religion, le patrimoine et le sport. Le cours de religion est préparé par le clergé, le Révérend Père Komitas Mirzakhanyan de Laval et le Révérend Père Myron Sargsyan de Mississauga. Chaque jour, les campeurs étaient guidés pour s’engager dans leur foi par le biais d’un certain nombre d’activités différentes, leur enseignant sur l’Église Apostolique arménienne et sur la manière de renforcer leur relation avec Dieu.

Le patrimoine et la culture sont les sujets importants de la matinée des campeurs. Chaque jour, différentes activités, liées à l’art arménien, à la danse, à la langue et au théâtre sont organisées pour permettre aux campeurs de découvrir leur culture et leur patrimoine arméniens. Comme certains campeurs ne maitrisent pas l’arménien, nous sommes fiers à leur offrir des occasions d’apprendre et de communiquer avec leur identité arménienne autrement que par la langue.

L’activité physique est très importante pour les jeunes et Camp Ararat s’assure que les campeurs sont actifs toute la journée. Chaque matin, les conseillers organisent différents jeux sportifs traditionnels comme le football et le basket-ball, ainsi que d’autres jeux de sociétés.

Tandis que les jeunes campeurs passent leur temps dans les rotations mentionnées, les plus âgées ont un matin très différent. Les campeurs âgés de 14 et 15 ans font partie d’un programme spécial dirigé par un groupe de personnes exceptionnel. Le « Défi » du Camp Ararat. Le défi est une course que les campeurs complètent chaque jour en groupes spéciaux avec un gagnant absolu à la fin de la semaine. Chaque jour, les groupes effectuent des activités physiques, culturelles, mentales et académiques contre leurs pairs pour s’imposer. Chaque année, le défi a son propre thème. Cette année c’était Disney ! Les thèmes passés incluent Harry Potter, le jeu de la vie et des super-héros.

Après le déjeuner, tous les campeurs poursuivent la programmation à l’échelle du camp. Chaque jour, les conseillers organisent des conférences pour enseigner à nos campeurs comment les Arméniens ont fait une différence dans le monde social, médical et commercial.

Vient ensuite la programmation de l’après-midi. Chaque jour, les campeurs expérimentent un certain nombre d’activités, principalement relatives à l’eau. Il y a une plage où les campeurs peuvent nager dans le lac, faire du canoë ou du kayak. La grande piscine creusée donne à nos campeurs la possibilité de montrer leurs plongées, de jouer au water-polo et de descendre la piste glissante ! Une autre activité nautique à laquelle participent les campeurs pendant la semaine est la version Camp Ararat de « Jur Achkhar ». Les campeurs peuvent participer à des jeux d’eau sur le terrain. Le but est de tremper et rafraîchir tout le monde ! En plus des activités nautiques, les campeurs peuvent également profiter de la pêche, du tir à l’arc et du tir au canon.

Après un peu de détente, c’est le temps de dîner ! Puis c’est le programme du soir qui commence. Chaque jour, les conseillers créent des activités à l’échelle du camp. Ces activités sont liées à notre thème annuel, c’est-à-dire « l’Année de la jeunesse ». Nuit d’amusement à des vétilles arméniennes, conseil en entraînement aux Jeux olympiques, concours de compétence et de danse ne sont que quelques-uns des programmes du soir qui sont devenus des incontournables au camp !

Camp Ararat gère également un programme pour ceux qui sont trop vieux pour être campeurs, mais trop jeunes pour être conseillers. Ces 16-17 ans font partie du programme de deux ans de formation en conseiller. Ils travaillent avec du personnel expérimenté qui les forme à devenir de grands leaders dans leurs communautés et d’excellents conseillers au Camp Ararat. Le travail en équipe, la coopération et les activités en compétence sont largement intégrés au programme.

Chaque année, le Camp Ararat a la chance de compter sur une excellente équipe de conseillers bénévoles, soigneusement sélectionnés de partout au Canada. Plusieurs de ces conseillers reviennent depuis des années et d’autres souhaitent faire partie de la famille Camp Ararat pour la première fois. Les portes du Camp Ararat sont toujours ouvertes pour quiconque veut en faire partie. Sans cette équipe solide, nos campeurs ne pourront pas vivre une expérience aussi inoubliable

Nous sommes fiers que la jeunesse arménienne du Canada a une occasion comme le camp Ararat. Merci à tous ceux qui rendent chaque année spéciale.

arrow