Pope Francis’ Apostolic Visit to Armenia

On June 24-26, 2016, His Holiness Pope Francis, made an apostolic journey to the First Christian Nation – Armenia. His Holiness called the journey a pilgrimage highlighting the spiritual dimension of the trip to the Land of Ararat.
Upon an invitation from His Holiness Karekin II, Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians, on the occasion of His Holiness Pope Francis’ visit, a delegation from Canada – His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan, Primate of the Armenian Holy Apostolic Church Diocese of Canada, accompanied by Mr. and Mrs. Ohan and Anita Ohanessian, and Mr. and Mrs. Ardene and Christine Dervishian, travelled to the Motherland Armenia to partake in the official events.
Pope Francis was welcomed at “Zvartnots” International Airport of Yerevan by Karekin II, Catholicos of All Armenians; His Excellency Mr. Serzh Sarkisyan, President of the Republic of Armenia and First Lady Mrs. Rita Sarkisyan; State Officials and Bishops of the Catholic and Armenian Apostolic Churches.
(click here to watch the video of the welcome ceremony)

His Holiness Pope Francis and His Holiness Karekin II, then travelled to the Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin, where Saint Gregory the Illuminator in a vision saw the Only Begotten Son of God descend, to pray together in the spiritual center of All Armenians. (Click here to watch the video of the visit of prayer to Etchmiadzin)

Pope Francis paid a courtesy visit to the President of Armenia followed by meet Civil Authorities and Diplomatic Corps at the Presidential Palace. In his speech Pope Francis referred to the Armenian genocide, saying: “sadly, that tragedy, that genocide, was the first of the deplorable series of catastrophes of the past century, made possible by twisted racial, ideological or religious aims that darkened the minds of the tormentors even to the point of planning the annihilation of entire peoples. It is so sad that – in this as in the others two – the great powers looked the other way.” (click here to watch the video of the visit to the President and meeting with authorities)

At the end of the first day of the apostolic journey, Pope Francis held a private meeting with the Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians at the Apostolic Palace in Etchmiadzin.
On Saturday morning, June 25, 2016, Pope Francis, Catholicos of All Armenians, and President of Armenia, paid a visit to “Tzitzernakabert” Memorial of the Armenian Genocide, where His Holiness laid a wreath, prayed with the Catholic and Armenian Bishops, planted a pine tree in the Memory Alley of the Armenian Genocide and met descendants of the orphans-survivors of the Armenian Genocide, who found refuge at the Castel Gandolfo Papal Palace at the decision of Pope Benedict 15 and Pius XI. At the conclusion, His Holiness wrote in the Book of Honorable Guests of the Genocide Museum, which reads: “Here, I pray with sorrow in my heart so that a tragedy like this never again occurs, so that humanity will never forget and will know how to defeat evil with good. May God endow peace and consolation to the beloved Armenian people and to the whole world. May God protect the memory of the Armenian people. Memory should never be diluted or forgotten. Memory is the source of peace and the future.” (Click here to watch the video of the visit to the Tzitzernakaberd Memorial Complex)

After the visit, His Holiness Pope Francis and His Holiness Karekin II, travelled to Gyumri, the second largest city in Armenia, where Pope Francis celebrated Holy Mass in “Vartanants” Square. They visited the Armenian Apostolic Cathedral of the Seven Wounds and the Catholic Cathedral of the Holy Martyrs.
(Click here to watch the video of the Holy Mass in Vartanants Square)

On Saturday evening, an Ecumenical Meeting and Prayer for Peace took place in Republic Square in Yerevan, presided over by His Holiness Karekin II and His Holiness Pope Francis. Pope Francis expressed the idea that it was a grace to find himself on these heights where, beneath the gaze of Mount Ararat, the very silence seems to speak. And where the “khatchkar” – the stone crosses – recount a singular history bound up with rugged faith and immense suffering. A history, he went on to say, replete with magnificent testimonies to the Gospel, to which you the Armenian people are heirs. At the conclusion, in a symbolic gesture, Pope Francis and the Catholicos of all Armenians Karekin II watered the seedlings of a vine in a model of Noah’s Ark symbolizing Armenia’s many Christians living in the diaspora so that they may bear fruit, signifying new life. (Click here to watch the video of the Ecumenical encounter and Prayer for Peace)

On the morning of the last day of the Pope Francis’ apostolic visit to Armenia, His Holiness met with the Armenian Catholic Bishops at the Apostolic Palace in Etchmiadzin.
After the meeting, Pope Francis participated in the Divine Liturgy celebrated by the Catholicos of All Armenians Karekin II. The Liturgy was attended by Mr. Serzh Sarkisyan, President of the Republic of Armenia and First Lady Mrs. Rita Sarkisyan; Mr. Galust Sahakyan, RA National Assembly President; Mr. Hovik Abrahamyan, RA Prime Minister; Diocesan Primates of the Armenian Apostolic Church; Supreme Spiritual Council members; benefactors of Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin; delegates from dioceses around the world; social and cultural figures; representatives of the diplomatic missions and international organizations and numerous pilgrims from Armenia and Diaspora. In a discourse at the conclusion of the celebration, Pope Francis spoke of his “already unforgettable” visit and prayed that the two Churches “follow God’s call to full communion and hasten to it.” Citing Saints Bartholomew and Thaddeus “who first proclaimed the Gospel in these lands” and “Saints Peter and Paul who gave their lives for the Lord in Rome,” Pope Francis said they “surely rejoice to see our affection and our tangible longing for full communion.” (Click here to watch the video of the Divine Liturgy at the Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin)

Upon conclusion of the Divine Liturgy, an Ecumenical Lunch was hosted by His Holiness the Catholicos of All Armenians, with the Archbishops and the Bishops of the Armenian Apostolic Church, the Armenian Catholic Bishops and the Cardinals and Bishops of the Papal Entourage at the Apostolic Palace.
Later on, the two Heads of the Church signed a Common Declaration. Click here to read the Declaration in Armenian and in English
After signing the Declaration, His Holiness Pope Francis met with delegates and benefactors of the Armenian Apostolic Church at the Residence of the Catholicos of All Armenians. Click here to watch the Report in Armenian about signing the Common Declaration and the Meeting with delegates and benefactors

On Sunday, June 26th, Pope Francis ended his three day Apostolic journey to Armenia with a visit to “Khor Virap” Monastery at the foot of Mount Ararat where Saint Gregory the Illuminator was held prisoner for thirteen long years before bringing about the conversion of the King Trdat in 301. A conversion which led to Armenia becoming the first nation ever to adopt Christianity as a State religion. The two Church Leaders prayed in the monastery, following which, together they released two white doves towards the biblical Mount Ararat. A striking gesture which holds within it a symbol of unity and peace. (Click here to watch the video of the Prayer at the monastery of Khor Virap)

From “Khor Virap” His Holiness Pope Francis travelled to Yerevan’s Zvartnots Airport where a farewell ceremony took place with participation of His Holiness Karekin II; His Excellency Mr. Serzh Sarkisyan, President of the Republic of Armenia and First Lady Ms. Rita Sarkisyan; State officials and Bishops of the Catholic and Armenian Apostolic Churches. (Click here to watch the video of the Farewell ceremony)

On the way back from Armenia to Rome, in response to a journalist’s question as to “why did you decide to add openly the word genocide to your speech at the presidential palace?” His Holiness Pope Francis responded: “I’ve always spoke of three genocides in the last century… always three! The first was the Armenian, then that of Hitler, and the last is that of Stalin… there are small ones, there is another in Africa, but as in the orbit of the two great wars there are these three… I’ve asked why… But there, I wanted to underscore something else, and I don’t think I err that I also said: in this genocide, as in the other two, the great international powers looked in the other direction. And this was the thing. In the Second World War some powers, which had photographed the train lines that led to Auschwitz had the possibility to bomb and didn’t do it. An example. In the context of the First War, where was the problem of the Armenians? And in the context of the Second War where was the problem of Hitler and Stalin and after Yalta of the area… and all that no one speak about. One has to underscore this. And make the historical question: why didn’t you do this, you powers? I don’t accuse, I ask a question. It’s curious. They looked at the war, at so many things… but not the people… and I don’t know if it’s true, but I would like to know if it’s true that when Hitler persecuted the Jews, one of the words, of the thing that he may have said was “Well, who remembers today the Armenians, let’s do the same with the Jews.” I don’t know if it’s true, maybe it’s hearsay, but I’ve heard this said. Historians, search and see if it’s true. I think I answered. But I never said this word with an offensive intention, if not objectively.”

arrow

Visite Apostolique du pape François en Arménie

Du 24-26 juin, 2016, Sa Sainteté le Pape François, a fait un voyage apostolique en Arménie, la première nation à avoir embrassé la foi chrétienne. Sa Sainteté a appelé ce voyage un pèlerinage soulignant sa dimension spirituelle au pays d’Ararat.
Suite à une invitation de Sa Sainteté Karékine II, Patriarche Suprême et Catholicos de tous les Arméniens, et à l’occasion de la visite de Sa Sainteté le Pape François, une délégation du Canada, composée de Son Éminence Mgr Abgar Hovakimyan, Primat du Diocèse arménien du Canada, accompagné de M. et Mme Ohan et Anita Ohanessian, et M. et Mme Ardene et Christine Dervishian, s’est rendue en Arménie pour participer aux évènements officiels.
Le Pape a été accueilli à l’aéroport international « Zvartnots » d’Erevan par Karékine II, le Patriarche Suprême et Catholicos de tous les Arméniens, Son Excellence M. Serge Sarkisyan, Président de la République d’Arménie et la Première Dame Mme Rita Sarkisyan, les Fonctionnaires d’État et les Évêques de l’Église catholique et de l’Églises apostoliques arménienne. (Cliquez ici pour voir la vidéo de la cérémonie de bienvenue)

Par la suite, Sa Sainteté le Pape François et Sa Sainteté Karékine II, se sont rendus au Saint-Siège d’Etchmiadzine, où Saint Grégoire l’Illuminateur avait eu la vision de la décente du Fils unique de Dieu, pour une cérémonie religieuse de salut. Le Pape et le Catholicos ont prié ensemble dans le centre spirituel de tous les Arméniens pour la paix de leurs fidèles et pour le monde entier. (Cliquez ici pour voir la vidéo de la prière à Etchmiadzine)

Le même jour, le Pape François a effectué une visite de courtoisie au Président de la République d’Arménie, suivie d’une rencontre avec les autorités civiles et le corps diplomatique, au Palais présidentiel. Dans son discours, le Pape François a fait référence au génocide arménien, en disant : « malheureusement, cette tragédie, ce génocide, a été la première de la série déplorable des catastrophes du siècle passé, rendues possibles par des objectifs raciaux, idéologiques ou religieux qui obscurcissaient l’esprit des bourreaux au point même de la planification de l’anéantissement des peuples entiers. Il est si triste que – dans ce cas comme dans les autres deux – les grandes puissances avaient le regard ailleurs » (cliquez ici pour voir la vidéo de la visite au Président et la rencontre avec les autorités)

A la fin de la première journée du voyage apostolique, Le Pape a tenu une réunion privée avec le Patriarche Suprême et Catholicos de tous les Arméniens au Palais apostolique à Etchmiadzine.
Le samedi 25 Juin, 2016, lors de la deuxième journée de sa visite en Arménie, le Pape François, le Catholicos Karékine II et le Président de l’Arménie, se sont rendus à « Tzitzernakaberd », mémorial du génocide arménien, où Sa Sainteté a déposé une gerbe, a prié avec le Catholicos et les Évêques arméniens, a planté un sapin dans l’Allée du Mémoire et a rencontré des deorphelins-survivants du génocide arménien, qui avaient trouvé refuge au Castel Gandolfo, Palais des papes sur la décision du Pape Benoît XV et Pape Pie XI. À la fin, Sa Sainteté a écrit dans le Livre des invités du Musée du génocide, qui se lit: «Ici, je prie, mon cœur rempli de tristesse, afin qu’une telle tragédie ne se produise jamais, pour que l’humanité n’oublie jamais et qu’elle sache comment vaincre le mal par le bien. Que le Dieu assure la paix et la consolation pour le peuple arménien bien-aimé et pour le monde entier. Que Dieu protège la mémoire du peuple arménien. La mémoire ne doit jamais être diluée ou oubliée. La mémoire est la source de la paix et de l’avenir.» (Cliquez ici pour voir la vidéo de la visite du complexe mémorial de Tzitzernakaberd)

Après cette visite, Sa Sainteté le Pape François et Sa Sainteté Karékine II, ont pris la direction de Gyumri, deuxième grande ville d’Arménie, où le Pape a célébré la Messe sur la Place « Vartanants ». Ils ont visité ensuite la Cathédrale apostolique arménienne Notre-Dame des Sept Plaies et la Cathédrale catholique des Saints Martyrs. (Cliquez ici pour voir la vidéo de la Sainte Messe sur la place Vartanants)

Le samedi soir, une cérémonie œcuménique et de prière pour la paix a eu lieu sur la Place de la République à Erevan, présidée par Sa Sainteté Karékine II et Sa Sainteté le Pape François. Le Pape a exprimé l’idée qu’il était un honneur de se trouver sur ces hauteurs où, sous le regard du mont Ararat, même le silence semble parler. Là où le « khatchkar » – la croix de pierre – raconte une histoire singulière, liée à la foi robuste et d’immenses souffrances. Une histoire, il a poursuivi en disant, remplie de magnifiques témoignages de l’Évangile, à laquelle vous, le peuple arménien, êtes l’héritier. À la fin, le Pape François et le Catholicos de tous les Arméniens Karékine II ont arrosé le plant de vigne placé dans la terre ramenée des quatre coins de la planète, placée dans la maquette de l’Arche de Noé reposant sur un socle représentant le Mont Ararat, un message symbolique adressé au monde chrétien, de cette Arménie, la plus ancienne terre chrétienne, le pays de Noé et de la vigne, qui aspire la paix. (Cliquez ici pour voir la vidéo de la rencontre œcuménique et la prière pour la paix)

Le matin du dernier jour de la visite apostolique du Pape François, Sa Sainteté a rencontré les Évêques catholiques arméniens au Palais apostolique à Etchmiadzine.
Après la réunion, le Pape François a participé à la Messe célébrée par le Catholicos de tous les Arméniens Karékine II. La liturgie a été assistée par M. Serge Sarkisyan, Président de la République d’Arménie et la Première Dame Mme Rita Sarkisyian, M. Galust Sahakyan, Président de l’Assemblée nationale, M. Hovik Abrahamyan, Premier ministre, Les Primats Diocésains de l’Église apostolique arménienne, les membres du Conseil spirituel suprême, les bienfaiteurs de Saint-Siège d’Etchmiadzin, les délégués des diocèses à travers le monde, figures sociales et culturelles, les représentants des missions diplomatiques et des organisations internationales et de nombreux pèlerins venus de l’Arménie et de la Diaspora. Dans un discours à l’issue de la célébration, le Pape François a parlé de sa visite « déjà inoubliable » et a prié pour que les deux Églises «suivent l’appel de Dieu à la pleine communion et se raccrochent de lui.» Citant Saints Barthélemy et Thaddée « qui ont d’abord proclamé l’Évangile dans ces terres » et Saints Pierre et Paul « qui ont donné leur vie pour le Seigneur à Rome » François a dit qu’ils doivent sûrement se réjouir de voir notre affection et notre désir tangible de la pleine communion. » (Cliquez ici pour voir la vidéo de la Divine Liturgie à la Saint-Siège d’Etchmiadzin)

À l’issue de la Liturgie Divine, un déjeuner œcuménique eu lieu au Palais apostolique, accueilli par Sa Sainteté le Catholicos de tous les Arméniens, avec les Archevêques et les Évêques de l’Église apostolique arménienne, les Évêques catholiques arméniens et les Cardinaux et les Évêques de la suite papale.

Plus tard, les deux chefs de l’Église ont signé une déclaration commune et se sont engagé à promouvoir l’unité chrétienne dans le monde entier en approfondissant les relations entre les deux Églises historiques. Cliquez ici pour lire la déclaration en arménien et en anglais

Après avoir signé la Déclaration, Sa Sainteté le Pape François a rencontré les délégués et les bienfaiteurs de l’Église apostolique arménienne à la Résidence du Catholicos de tous les Arméniens. Cliquez ici pour regarder le rapport en arménien à propos de la signature de la Déclaration commune et de la réunion avec les délégués et bienfaiteurs

Le dimanche 26 Juin le pape François a terminé son voyage apostolique de trois jours en Arménie avec une visite du Monastère historique à « Khor Virap » au pied du mont Ararat où Saint Grégoire l’Illuminateur a été retenu prisonnier pendant treize longues années avant la conversion du roi Tiridate en 301, une conversion qui a conduit l’Arménie de devenir la première nation à adopter le christianisme comme religion d’Etat. Les deux dirigeants de l’Église ont prié ensemble et ont lâché deux colombes blanches symboles de paix vers le Mont Ararat biblique, situé à seulement quelques kilomètres en Turquie. (Cliquez ici pour voir la vidéo de la prière au monastère de Khor Virap)

De «Khor Virap» Sa Sainteté le Pape François a pris le chemin vers Zvartnots, Aéroport d’Erevan où une cérémonie de congé a eu lieu avec la participation de Sa Sainteté Karékine II, Son Excellence M. Serge Sarkisyan, Président de la République d’Arménie et la Première Dame Mme Rita Sarkisyan, les fonctionnaires de l’État et les Évêques des Églises catholiques et apostoliques arméniennes. (Cliquez ici pour voir la vidéo de la cérémonie de congé)

Sur son chemin de retour de l’Arménie à Rome, en réponse à la question d’un journaliste à « pourquoi avez-vous décidé d’ajouter ouvertement le mot « génocide » dans votre discours au Palais présidentiel », Sa Sainteté le Pape François a répondu: « J’ai toujours parlé des trois génocides du siècle dernier … toujours trois! Celui des Arméniens, celui de Hitler, et celui de Staline … Il y a des petits, il y a un autre en Afrique, mais c’est dans l’orbite des deux grandes guerres qu’il a eu lieu ces trois … je me suis demandé pourquoi … Mais là, je voulais souligner quelque chose d’autre, et je ne pense pas que je me trompe quand je disais: dans ce génocide, comme dans les deux autres, les grandes puissances internationales ont regardé ailleurs. Et c’était là le problème. Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, certaines puissances qui avaient photographié les chemins de fer qui conduisaient à Auschwitz, avaient la possibilité de les bombarder et ne l’ont pas fait. Dans le contexte de la Première Guerre, où était le problème des Arméniens? Et dans le contexte de la Seconde Guerre où était le problème d’Hitler et de Staline et après Yalta, de la région … et personne ne parle de cela. Il faut le souligner et poser la question historique: pourquoi ne l’avez-vous pas fait, vous les puissances? Je n’accuse pas, je pose une question. C’est curieux. Ils ont regardé la guerre, et tant de choses… mais pas les gens… et je ne sais pas s’il est vrai, mais je voudrais le savoir, que lorsque Hitler éliminait les Juifs, il a eu cette réaction «Mais qui se rappelle les Arméniens, faisons la même chose avec les Juifs.» Peut-être qu’il est un ouï-dire, mais je l’ai entendu dire cela. Historiens, recherchez et voyez s’il est vrai. Je pense que j’ai répondu. Mais je n’ai pas utilisé ce mot avec un esprit offensif mais c’est un fait objectif ».

arrow