Pilgrimage to Armenia on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of Independence

On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of Independence of the Republic of Armenia, the Armenian Diocese of Canada, with blessings of His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimian, Primate, organized a 14-day pilgrimage. 30 pilgrims from Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver, Laval, and beyond, celebrated Armenia’s Independence in Armenia.

On September 18, 2016, pilgrims visited Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin, the spiritual center of all Armenians where they received blessings from His Holiness Karekin II, Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians. The same day, they visited The Alex and Marie Manoogian Treasury House Museum of the Mother See, the churches of St. Hripsime and St. Gayane, and the archeological site of Zvartnots. Cathedral and Churches of Etchmiadzin and the Archaeological Site of Zvartnots have been inscribed in the UNESCO World Heritage List. For more information about the site please visit http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/1011/

On September 19, pilgrims met Mrs. Hranush Hakobyan, Minister of Diaspora of the Republic of Armenia. After the meeting, they travelled to the province of Kotayk where they visited the Temple of Garni – a classical Hellenistic temple, which is the best-known structure and symbol of pre-Christian Armenia. From Garni pilgrims travelled to the monastery of Geghard, which contains a number of churches and tombs, most of them cut into the rock, which illustrate the very peak of Armenian medieval architecture. The complex of medieval buildings is set into a landscape of great natural beauty, surrounded by towering cliffs at the entrance to the Azat Valley. The monastery was renowned for the relics housed there. The most celebrated of these was the spear, which had wounded Christ on the Cross and was brought there by the Apostle Thaddeus, from which comes its present name, Geghardavank (the Monastery of the Spear). The spear was kept in the Monastery for 500 years. The monastery of Geghard has been inscribed in the UNESCO World Heritage List. For more information about the monastery please visit http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/960 On the evening pilgrims had an opportunity to visit the Yerevan Opera House and to enjoy a concert performed by the “Barekamutyun” Armenian State Dance Ensemble.

On Tuesday, September 20, pilgrims visited Erebuni Historical and Archeological Museum-Reserve. The Erebuni settlement was constructed in 782 BC by one of the greatest kings of Urartu, Argishti the First. From there pilgrims travelled to the Ararat Cognac Factory founded in 1887 where they had a degustation of various kinds of famous Armenian brandy. The same day, pilgrims visited the Tsitsernakaberd Memorial Complex – Genocide Museum and laid flowers at the eternal flame in memory of the victims of the Genocide.

On September the 21st pilgrims celebrated the 25th anniversary of Independence of the Republic of Armenia.

On September the 22nd pilgrims guided by His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan, Primate, met His Holiness Karekin II, Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians at the spiritual center of all Armenians – Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin. They received Patriarchal blessings and afterwards visited the Museum of the Mother Cathedral.

The same day, pilgrims visited St. Mersob Cathedral in Oshakan, where the Saint creator of the Armenian alphabet Mesrob Mashtots is buried. Afterwards, they travelled towards the slopes of Mount Aragats to visit Amberd – a 7th century fortress and the adjacent Vahramashen church built in 1026 by Prince Vahram Pahlavuni.

September the 23rd pilgrims passed in Yerevan where they visited the History Museum and National Gallery of Armenia, architectural complex Caskad and the Matenadaran – Mesrop Mashtots Institute of Ancient Manuscripts.

The next day, on September the 24th pilgrims traveled to the Province of Vayots Dzor. On their way towards Goris they visited Khor Virap monastery located in the Ararat Plain. Khor Virap means “deep pit”. St. Gregory the Illuminator was imprisoned here for 14 years by King Tiridates III of Armenia. From there pilgrims traveled to Areni village, which is widely known for its wine production, where there were joined by His Eminence Archbishop Abraham Mkrtchyan, Primate of the Diocese of Vayots Dzor. Afterwards pilgrims visited Noravank – a 13th-century monastery, located in a narrow gorge made by the Amaghu River. That night pilgrims passed in Goris.

On September 25, pilgrims reached the Republic of Artsakh (Nagorno-Karabakh), where they visited Shushi and Ghazanchetsots Cathedral. From there pilgrims visited “We Are Our Mountains” monument and the Pantheon of Brotherhood. Afterwards, pilgrims visited a boarding school and presented gifts to the children. That night pilgrims passed in Stepanakert, the Capital of the Republic of Artsakh.

On September 26, a meeting with Mr. Ashot Ghulyan, Speaker of the Parliament of the Republic of Artsakh (Nagorno-Karabakh) was held at the National Assembly of Artsakh. From there pilgrims traveled to Gandzasar monastery – a 10th to 13th century Armenian monastery situated in the Mardakert district of the Republic of Artsakh. In Armenian “Gandzasar” means treasure mountain and the monastery has gained its name because it holds relics of St. John the Baptist and his father St Zechariah. The same day, His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan, Primate, met His Eminence Archbishop Pargev Martirosyan, Parimate of the Diocese of Artsakh, and visited the construction site of a new church.

On September the 27th pilgrims visited Khndzoresk – a village in the province of Syunik. The village is located on the steep slopes of Khor Dzor (Deep Gorge), from which, according to tradition, it got its name. From there the traveled to Zorats Karer, also called Karahunj – a prehistoric archaeological site near the town of Sisian in the Syunik Province of Armenia. The phrase Zorats Karer is literally translated from Armenian as Army Stones. It is also often referred to as the ‘Armenian Stonehenge.’ The next stop was the Tatev monastery – a 9th century Armenian Apostolic monastery located on a large basalt plateau near the Tatev village. The monastic ensemble stands on the edge of a deep gorge of the Vorotan River. In the 14th and 15th centuries the monastery hosted one of the most important Armenian medieval universities, the University of Tatev, which contributed to the advancement of science, religion and philosophy, reproduction of books and development of miniature painting. Scholars of the Tatev University contributed to the preservation of Armenian culture and creed during one of its most turbulent periods in its history. From Tatev pilgrims traveled to Sevan and passed that night in Sevan.

On September 28, pilgrims visited lake Sevan and Sevanavank – a monastic complex located on a peninsula at the northwestern shore of the lake. According to an inscription in one of the churches, the monastery of Sevanavank was founded in 874 by Princess Mariam, the daughter of Ashot I, who became a king a decade later. From Sevan pilgrims traveled to Dilijan, where they first visited Goshavank, or “Monastery of Gosh” – a 12th century Armenian monastery located in the village of Gosh in the Tavush Province of Armenia. Mkhitar Gosh – author of the first criminal code, took part in the rebuilding of the monastery. At Goshavank, Mkhitar Gosh founded a school. One of its alumni, an Armenian scientist by the name of Kirakos Gandzaketsi wrote The History of Armenia. The architect Mkhitar the Carpenter and his disciple Hovhannes also took an active part in the building of the monastery. The complex was later renamed Goshavank and the village named Gosh in his honor. The impressive monastery also houses one of the world’s finest examples of a Khachkar. From Goshavank pilgrims traveled to Haghartsin – a 13th century monastery located near the town of Dilijan. From Haghartsin pilgrims returned to the capital Yerevan.

September the 29th, the last day of the pilgrimage, pilgrims had a full day of leisure in Yerevan thus concluding their unforgettable trip to the Motherland.

arrow

Pèlerinage en Arménie à l’occasion du 25e anniversaire de l’indépendance

A l’occasion du 25e anniversaire de l’indépendance de la République d’Arménie, le Diocèse de l’Église arménienne du Canada, avec la bénédiction de Sa Grâce l’Évêque Abgar Hovakimian, Primat, a organisé un pèlerinage de 14 jours. 30 pèlerins de Montréal, Toronto, Vancouver, Laval, et au-delà, ont célébré l’indépendance de l’Arménie en Arménie.

Le 18 Septembre 2016, les pèlerins ont visité le Saint-Siège d’Etchmiadzin, le centre spirituel de tous les Arméniens, où ils ont reçu la bénédiction de Sa Sainteté Karekin II, Patriarche Suprême et Catholicos de tous les Arméniens. Le même jour, ils ont visité le Musée Alex et Marie Manoogian des trésors du Saint-Siège, les Églises de Sainte Hripsimé et Sainte Gayané, et le site archéologique de Zvartnots. La Cathédrale et les Églises d’Etchmiadzine et le site archéologique de Zvartnots ont été inscrits sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Pour plus d’informations sur le site s’il vous plaît visitez http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/1011/

Le 19 Septembre les pèlerins ont rencontré Mme Hranush Hakobyan, ministre de la Diaspora de la République d’Arménie. Après la rencontre, ils se sont rendus à la province de Kotayk où ils ont visité le temple de Garni, un temple hellénistique classique, qui est la structure et le symbole de L’Arménie pré chrétienne le plus connu. De Garni les pèlerins se sont rendus au monastère rupestre de Geghard, qui contient un certain nombre d’Églises et de tombes, qui illustrent l’apogée de l’architecture médiévale arménienne. Le complexe de bâtiments médiévaux, taillé à même le roc, est situé dans un paysage d’une grande beauté naturelle, entouré de hautes falaises à l’entrée de la vallée de l’Azat. Le Monastère a été renommé pour les reliques qui y sont logées. La plus célèbre parmi eux étant la Lance, qui avait transpercé le corps du Christ crucifié et que l’Apôtre Thaddée aurait apporté en Arménie, d’où vient son nom actuel, Geghardavank (monastère de la Lance). La Lance a été conservée dans le Monastère pendant 500 ans. Le monastère de Geghard a été classé au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Pour plus d’informations sur le monastère s’il vous plaît visitez http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/96 Le soir les pèlerins ont eu l’occasion de visiter l’Opéra de Erevan et de profiter d’un concert exécuté par l’Ensemble d’Etat de dance « Barekamutyun ».

Le mardi 20 Septembre, les pèlerins ont visité le Musée-Réserve Historique et Archéologique Erebuni. La Colonie d’Erebuni était construite en 782 avant JC par l’un des plus grands rois de l’Ourartou, Argishti le Premier. De là, les pèlerins se sont rendus à l’usine de Cognac Ararat, fondée en 1887 où ils ont fait la dégustation de différentes sortes de brandy arménien célèbres. Le même jour, les pèlerins ont visité le complexe Mémorial de Tsitsernakaberd – Musée du Génocide et ont déposé des fleurs à la flamme éternelle à la mémoire des victimes du génocide.

Le 21 Septembre, les pèlerins ont célébré le 25e anniversaire de l’Indépendance de la République d’Arménie.

Le 22 Septembre, les pèlerins, guidés par Son Excellence Mgr Abgar Hovakimyan, Primat, ont rencontré Sa Sainteté Karekin II, Patriarche Suprême et Catholicos de tous les Arméniens au centre spirituel de tous les Arméniens – Saint-Siège d’Etchmiadzine. Ils ont reçu les bénédictions patriarcales et ensuite visité le Musée de la Mère Cathédrale.

Le même jour, les pèlerins ont visité la Cathédrale Saint-Mersob d’Oshakan, où est enterré le créateur de l’alphabet arménien, Saint Mesrob Mashtots. Ensuite, ils se sont dirigés vers les pentes du mont Aragats pour visiter Ambert – forteresse du 7ème siècle et l’Église adjacente de Vahramashen, construite en 1026 par le prince Vahram Pahlavuni.

Le 23 Septembre, les pèlerins ont passé la journée à Erevan en visitant le Musée d’Histoire et la Galerie Nationale de l’Arménie, le complexe architectural Cascade et le Matenadaran – Institut Mesrop Mashtots d’anciens manuscrits.

Le lendemain, le 24 Septembre les pèlerins se sont rendus à la province de Vayots Dzor. Sur leur chemin vers Goris, ils ont visité Khor Virap, monastère, situé dans la plaine de l’Ararat. Khor Virap signifie « fosse profonde » où Saint Grégoire l’Illuminateur fut emprisonné pendant 14 ans par le roi Tiridate III d’Arménie. De là, les pèlerins se sont rendus au village Aréni, qui est largement connu pour sa production de vin, où ils ont été rejoints par Son Éminence l’Archevêque Abraham Mkrtchyan, Primat du Diocèse de Vayots Dzor. Ensuite, les pèlerins ont visité Noravank – un monastère du 13ème siècle, situé dans une gorge étroite faite par la rivière Amaghu. Les pèlerins ont passé la nuit à Goris.

Le 25 Septembre, les pèlerins ont atteint la République d’Artsakh (Haut-Karabakh), où ils ont visité la cathédrale Ghazanchetsots de Shushi aussi connue comme Saint-Sauveur. De là, les pèlerins ont visité le monument « Nous sommes nos montagnes » et le Panthéon de la Fraternité, et un pensionnat où ils ont distribué des cadeaux aux enfants. Les pèlerins ont passé la nuit à Stepanakert, Capitale de la République d’Artsakh.

Le 26 Septembre, une rencontre avec M. Ashot Ghulyan, Président du Parlement de la République de l’Artsakh (Haut-Karabakh) a eu lieu à l’Assemblée nationale de l’Artsakh. De là, les pèlerins se dirigèrent vers Gandzasar – un monastère arménien du 10 au 13 siècle, situé dans le quartier Mardakert de la République d’Artsakh. En arménien « Gandzasar » signifie montagne de trésors et le monastère a gagné son nom parce qu’il détient des reliques de Saint Jean-Baptiste et son père Saint Zacharie. Le même jour, Sa Grâce l’Évêque Abgar Hovakimyan, Primat, a rencontré Son Éminence l’Archevêque Pargev Martirosyan, Primat du Diocèse de l’Artsakh, et a visité le chantier de construction d’une nouvelle église.
Le 27 Septembre, les pèlerins ont visité Khndzoresk – un village dans la province de Syunik. Le village est situé sur les pentes raides de Khor Dzor (Gorge Profonde), à partir de laquelle, selon la tradition, il a obtenu son nom. De là, ils se sont rendus à Zorats Karer, aussi appelé Karahunj – un site archéologique préhistorique près de la ville de Sisian dans la province de Syunik de l’Arménie. L’expression Zorats Karer est littéralement traduite de l’arménien comme pierres de l’armée. Il est également souvent désigné comme le « Stonehenge arménien ». Le prochain arrêt était le Monastère de Tatev – un Monastère arménien apostolique du 9ème siècle, situé sur un grand plateau de basalte près du village de Tatev. L’ensemble monastique se trouve sur le bord d’une gorge profonde de la rivière Vorotan. Dans les 14e et 15e siècles, le Monastère était un grand centre intellectuel de l’Arménie, une Université médiévale importante, l’Université de Tatev, qui a contribué à l’avancement de la science, la religion et la philosophie, la reproduction de livres et le développement de la peinture miniature. Les chercheurs de l’Université de Tatev ont contribué à la préservation de la culture et la religion arménienne, lors d’une de ses périodes les plus mouvementées de son histoire. De Tatev les pèlerins se sont rendus à Sevan où ils passèrent la nuit.

Le 28 Septembre, les pèlerins ont visité le lac Sevan et Sevanavank, un complexe monastique, situé sur une péninsule à la rive nord-ouest du lac. Selon une inscription dans l’une des Églises, le Monastère de Sevanavank a été fondé à l’an 874 par la princesse Mariam, la fille d’Ashot I, qui est devenu roi une décennie plus tard. De Sevan les pèlerins partirent pour Dilijan, où ils ont d’abord visité Goshavank, ou « Monastère de Gosh », un Monastère arménien du 12ème siècle, situé dans le village de Gosh, dans la province de Tavush. Mkhitar Goch, auteur du premier code pénal, avait pris part à la reconstruction du Monastère où il avait fondé une école et l’un de ses anciens élèves, un scientifique arménien par le nom de Kirakos Gandzaketsi avait écrit l’histoire de l’Arménie. L’architecte Mkhitar le Charpentier et son disciple Hovhannes avaient pris une part active dans la construction du Monastère. Le complexe a ensuite été rebaptisé Goshavank et le village nommé Gosh, en son honneur. Ce Monastère impressionnant abrite également l’un des plus beaux exemples du monde d’un Khachkar. De Goshavank les pèlerins se sont rendus à Haghartsin, un Monastère du 13ème siècle, situé près de la ville de Dilijan. Et de là ils retournèrent à la Capitale, Erevan.

Le 29 Septembre, le dernier jour du pèlerinage, les pèlerins avaient une journée complète de loisirs à Erevan concluant ainsi leur voyage inoubliable à la Mère Patrie.

arrow