Meeting with the Foreign Minister

On April 28, 2016, His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimian, Primate of the Armenian Diocese of Canada, met The Honourable Stéphane Dion, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Canada.

On behalf of the Canadian Armenians His Grace expressed his gratitude for the principled stance that the Canadian politicians have taken on the Armenian Genocide and praised Canada’s role in preventing the crime of genocide internationally.

Bishop Abgar brought to the Minister’s attention the recent Azerbaijani aggression against Artsakh (Nagorno-Karabakh), and asked the Minister to condemn Azerbaijan for the violations of 1994 ceasefire agreement between Armenia, Artsakh and Azerbaijan. He informed the Minister about numerous instances of the International Humanitarian Law and human rights violations committed by Azerbaijan that caused victims among civilian population of Artsakh, including children. In this regard His Grace highlighted the importance of the addressed condemnation of the aggressor.

Furthermore, Bishop Hovakimian mentioned that the only just and sustainable solution of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the international recognition of the independence of the Republic of Artsakh (Nagorno-Karabakh) and called upon the Canadian authorities to honor the free and legitimate will of the people of the Republic of Artsakh by recognizing its independence.

In conclusion, His Grace highlighted the importance of opening an Embassy of Canada in Armenia, and asked The Honourable Minister to pay an official visit to the first Christian State in the world.

Levon Isakhanyan, Diocesan Chancellor, accompanied the Primate during the visit to the Minister Dion.

arrow

Rencontre avec le Ministre des Affaires Étrangères

Le 28 Avril, 2016, Son Excellence Mgr Abgar Hovakimian, Primat du Diocèse arménien du Canada, a rencontré l’Honorable Stéphane Dion, Ministre des Affaires Étrangères du Canada.

Au nom des Arméniens canadiens, Sa Grâce a exprimé sa gratitude pour la position de principe que les politiciens canadiens ont pris sur le génocide arménien et a salué le rôle du Canada dans la prévention du crime de génocide à l’échelle internationale.

Mgr Hovakimian a porté à l’attention du Ministre de la récente agression azerbaïdjanaise contre l’Artsakh (Haut-Karabakh), et lui a demandé de condamner l’Azerbaïdjan pour les violations de l’accord de cessez-le-feu de 1994 entre l’Arménie, l’Artsakh et l’Azerbaïdjan. Il a informé aussi le ministre des nombreux cas de violations de Droits international humanitaire et des droits humains commises par l’Azerbaïdjan qui ont causé des victimes parmi la population civile de l’Artsakh, y compris les enfants. À cet égard, Son Excellence a souligné l’importance de la condamnation de l’agresseur.

Par ailleurs, Mgr Hovakimian a mentionné que la seule solution équitable et durable du conflit du Haut-Karabakh est la reconnaissance internationale de l’indépendance de la République d’Artsakh (Haut-Karabakh) et a appelé les autorités canadiennes à respecter la volonté libre et légitime du peuple de la République d’Artsakh en reconnaissant son indépendance.

En conclusion, Son Excellence a souligné l’importance de l’ouverture d’une ambassade du Canada en Arménie, et a demandé à l’Honorable Ministre de payer une visite officielle au premier Etat chrétien du monde.

Levon Isakhanyan, le chancelier Diocésain, accompagnait le Primat lors de sa visite du Ministre Dion.

arrow